Award Category Descriptions

Announcing the 2016 East Bay Innovation Awards to celebrate and recognize the significant contributors to the East Bay's unique culture and legacy of innovation and its impact on the regional economy!

Nominations will be reviewed by an independent panel of experts in each of the following categories:

  • Clean Tech: Products, services, and processes that harness renewable materials and energy sources, dramatically reduce the use of natural resources, and cut or eliminate emissions and wastes.
  • Advanced Manufacturing: Activities that (a) depend on the use and coordination of information, automation, computation, software, sensing and networking, and/or (b) make use of cutting-edge materials and emerging capabilities enabled by the physical and biological sciences to make existing products in new ways or make new products emerging from these new, advanced technologies.
  • Food: Agriculture, viticulture, or food and/or beverage design, production, or distribution.
  • Information and/or Communication Technology: The development, implementation, and maintenance of computer hardware and software systems to organize and communicate information electronically.
  • Life Sciences: Companies in the fields of biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, biomedical technologies or devices, medical equipment, life systems technologies, nutraceuticals, cosmeceuticals. This category also includes healthcare: providers of diagnostic, preventive, remedial, and therapeutic services such as doctors, nurses, hospitals and other private, public, and non-profit organizations.
  • Engineering and Design: The use of science, math, or artistry to solve problems or plan or present something in a new way.
  • Education: Private sector initiatives which pioneer innovative connections between the world of work and the world of learning to develop a more adaptable workforce.
  • Catalyst: An individual, organization, or company that is currently transcending organizational boundaries to pull East Bay assets together in new ways and/or catalyze new thinking or processes.

Thank you to all the judges and facilitators who were involved in the 2016 selection process!

William Acevedo, East Bay Manufacturing Group
Narsai David, Narsai's Specialty Food
Oscar Dominguez, Contra Costa Small Business Development Center
Tim Dupuis, Alameda County ITD
Carl Edwards, Pandora
Pamela Evans, Bay Area Green Business Program
Michael Fernald, San Francisco Business Times
Debrah Giles, East Bay Community Foundation
Dr. Alexander Glass, KineMed, Inc.
Alex Gomez, Business Development Center
Gilbert Gonzales, GO-Biz, State of California
Teresa Goodwin, HPA, Inc.
Demian Hardman, Contra Costa Conservation Programs
Angela Jenkins, Kaiser Permanente
Cheryl Koehler, Edible East Bay
Chantel Mandel, Bayer
Mark Martin, California Community Colleges
James Nixon, East Bay Broadband Consortium
Tina Neuhausel, Sustainable Contra Costa
Richard Rankin, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Vin Rover, East Contra Costa County (EC2)
Gene Russell, Manex
Kennan Salinero, ReImagine Science
Bruce Simon, Gateways East Bay STEM Network, CSUEB
Rich Stump, FATHOM
Gary Wolff, StopWaste (formerly)

Jim Becker, Richmond Community Foundation
Sruti Bharat, OSIsoft
Arthur Dao, Alameda County Transportation Commission
Kelly Kline, City of Fremont
Nina Robinson, Inner City Advisors
Rich Seithel, Contra Costa County
Dr. Gregory Theyel, East Bay Biomedical Manufacturing Network